Home Metal Detecting
Options

updated UPDATE: For my last official hunt by just me I've decided to try something

AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,536 ✭✭✭✭✭
I have never done before. I am going to detect around several one room school houses and old churches that have not been used in 75 plus years. I've never done a coin hunt so this ought to be interesting. Will bring a digger (my wife most likely) and a camera.

Will be doing this at the end of July if all works out.

bobimage

PS: any tips?

Heading off....hope to get the permission needed....wish me luck and will let you all know

when I return in a week or so. Sent detector ahead (kept the box it came in for times

just like this one) and it's ready and waiting.
Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com

Comments

• Options
    ZotZot Posts: 825 ✭✭✭
    Sounds like an excellent idea, and with great potential too!

Your sites sound promising! However, you may find that there's a bit more trash than you expect...
    My personal observations are that sites where "people dropped lots of coins 100 years ago, and nobody's been there since" don't really exist. Modern junk always finds a way to get into the ground too.

Depending on how much production you can expect to get from your digger, you may want to be quite selective and go for the really good signals, and then the deep ones of course.
    Keeping her motivated will be key of course, but you're the expert on how to accomplish that! image

PS. Not trying to put any post-surgery ideas in your head, but just a thought: There are some pretty good harnesses and cords that one can rig up to take the weight of the detector almost completely off your arm and transfer it to your back instead.
    These are essential e.g. for gold detectorists when using the largest coils. Maybe the occasional coinshooting trip in easy terrain could still be possible with appropriate arm/shoulder offloading arrangements and a digger?