Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

New Quarter Sample.

cladkingcladking Posts: 28,348 ✭✭✭✭✭
I'm still sampling quarters in circulation. In the last year there hasn't been much of note or of interest but today was a little different. Even though I've been sampling since 1966 I've only kept the nicest one I can find (of each date/ mm) since 1996 and before this I saved only Gems and varieties.

Today I got pretty lucky. There were two of the older coins in AU. The 1977 isn't special except that it's the best I've found so will go in the collection. The other is a '79-D but it's a small motto variety which is scarce in such high grade. There's also a second really tough variety which is a nice attractive '85-P Sm Bust in XF. There are also three Gem parks quarters P & D Kisatchie and a Denver Blue Ridge Parkway. So it's three coins for the collection and a nice BRP and '79-D type "d" to set aside.

The coins were a little nondescript with only 53.1% states issues, 4 bicentennial, and very few '67 to '74 issues. The percentage of damaged coins appears to be increasing but I'm continuing to see very few highly worn coins which might imply they are being culled out for destruction. I'm beginning to get the sense that people are pulling out nice XF eagle reverse coins of later dates. It's too early to be sure but '90's era coins have been pretty ratty in the last few samples.
Tempus fugit.

Comments

• Options
    DIMEMANDIMEMAN Posts: 22,403 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Nice day. I wasn't aware of the 85-P sm bust and 79-D small motto varieties.
  • Options
    Originally posted by: DIMEMAN

Nice day. I wasn't aware of the 85-P sm bust and 79-D small motto varieties.