Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

I have FINALLY upgraded to a DSLR and macro lens!!!

cmerlo1cmerlo1 Posts: 7,891 ✭✭✭✭✭
One of my best friends and fellow collectors is a retired photographer from the Associated Press. He photographed the Kennedy assassination, covered all presidents since then, and took some memorable sports images, including one that ended up on a Wheaties box. We've discussed coin photography many times, and he always told me if I bought the macro lens, I could have one of the Canon EOS 1D Mark II bodies he used while he was at the AP. I have been using a point-and-shoot since I started shooting coins over 10 years ago, and had taken it about as far as I could, using an axial lighting box and homemade copy stand. Anyway, I was finally able to afford the Canon 100mm macro lens and a set of extension tubs, along with a REAL copy stand. Like he promised, he gave me the camera body yesterday- it was still in the box and hadn't been used much; he had 3 of them and this was one of his backup cameras. I originally had two 250-watt photo floods, but they generated a TON of heat, so I replaced them earlier today with 2 85-watt compact florescent floods (they look ridiculous, but put out great light). Here are some of the first images along with a shot of the rig- any comments, critiques, or suggestions are appreciated. I have the Goodman book on order and am expecting it next week...

You Suck! Awarded 6/2008- 1901-O Micro O Morgan, 8/2008- 1878 VAM-123 Morgan, 9/2022 1888-O VAM-1B3 H8 Morgan | Senior Regional Representative- ANACS Coin Grading. Posted opinions on coins are my own, and are not an official ANACS opinion.

Comments

• Options
    JustacommemanJustacommeman Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Those pics are a little too good ; )

Congrat's!!!

mark
    Walker Proof Digital Album
    Fellas, leave the tight pants to the ladies. If I can count the coins in your pockets you better use them to call a tailor. Stay thirsty my friends......
  • Options