Home U.S. Coin Forum

New Guy with a Question

Hello to everyone, I am new to this message board. I have a question concerning accurate valuation of 1861-O seated half $ die varieties. As many here doubtless know, the New Orleans Mint changed hands twice in 1861. Recent research has established, or at least is claimed to have established, which of the fifteen 1861-O obverse/reverse die combinations were struck under federal authority, which were struck under State of Louisiana authority, and which were minted under CSA authority. Being a Civil War history and artifact buff, I am endeavoring to collect a nice example of an 1861-O 50c struck under each of the three minting authorities. Thus far, I have acquired a WB-103 (CSA) example in PCGS AU-53, and a WB-101, die pair 7 (State of LA) example in PCGS MS-64. I am still looking for the right federal authority example, which is supposedly the scarcest of the three. PCGS has only recently begun adding die variety information to its 1861-O half $ holders, and I suspect it will be a while before the PCGS on-line Price Guide catches up to this innovation in any meaningful way. So I seek the collective wisdom of the folks here to help me to decide how much to be willing to pay for a nice WB-101 die pair 1 or 2 example in some grade between AU-53 and MS-62 inclusive. On a percentage basis, how much of a premium over the undifferentiated listings in the PCGS Price Guide attach to examples from each of the three minting authorities?

Thanks in advance for sharing your expertise.
Beginning (again) in coins; 35+ yr collector/researcher/author in early American pocket watches; Civil War watch, coin and history buff; physicist by day, banjo picker and aspiring sci-fi fantasy writer by night.

Comments

• DaveGDaveG Posts: 3,535
    I suggest watching the offerings of the big Liberty Seated dealers and the auctions of LS coinage to get a good idea of where these coins are being priced.