Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

What's with this Grading Service: Sports Cards Direct?

Look at this Henderson card? It looks pretty nice? 1980 Topps Rickey Henderson Rookie SCD 10

Just curious if anyone heard or had some knowledge on this service? image

rbd

Comments

• zef204zef204 Posts: 4,742 ✭✭
    SCD, the magazine, sold their grading sevice to the people who started the new SCd(Sports Card Direct). People think they have loosened their standard from the old SCD. I have limited experience but have had 2 old SCD and 1 new cross over to PSA with the same grade. Small smaple size so I wouldn't put too much into that.

Edited to add:

the card looks good, but that dealer also deals PSA and BGS, so I would wonder why that card is in an SGC holder?
    EAMUS CATULI!

My Auctions
  • BoopottsBoopotts Posts: 6,784 ✭✭
    If this particular seller has a card in an SCD holder you have to suspect that there's a very good reason for that.
  • A761506A761506 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭
    I had not ever heard that this Sports Cards Direct had any sort of relation with the original SCD, I was always of the assumption that whoever started Sports Cards Direct (and I figured it was some guy out of his basement) did so with the intention of being able to use the lettering SCD, which would acually lend crediibility to the card. I would have no problems purchasing a card in an original SCD (Sports Collectors Digest) holder, and I suspect other knowledgable graded collectors would also purchase these cards because that was a legitimate operation when it was running, however, I suspect this new company is shady. Add to it the fact that Red-Zone (aka shaqfu1) is the one selling it, and you have your answer, 100% guaranteed trimmed.
  • WinPitcherWinPitcher Posts: 27,726 ✭✭✭
    From what i understand the new SCD bought the rights and machinery from the old SCD.

FWIW I had 1 deal with red zone and it went well.

Brian on the other hand and his switched Orr card/cert did not.