Home U.S. Coin Forum

Does anyone know about these two 1983 D and 1983 Lincoln cents I have

I’m brand new at all this I just noticed no mint mark I had no clue even that Phillie didn’t put a mint mark till recently was just cleaning change out and then noticed the 83D both weighed 3.1 on my scale and I read up on it and I believe that means they have copper and zinc . Anyhow are these worthless too?

Comments

• HemisphericalHemispherical Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 16, 2019 7:24PM

Welcome @Stephanip.

Might want to crop your pics.

The letters are were the coins were minted.

W, West Point.
    D, Denver
    S, San Fran
    None, Philly

They are worth 1c.

• Ok so pics are too big and they are worth one penny even tho they weigh 3.1 grams and I thought one had some doubling and one a rim strike :(

• Thankyou I can delete the comment if it’s too big

• mannie graymannie gray Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 16, 2019 8:13PM

Welcome @Stephanip !
    I would make sure your scale is calibrated.
    A nickel should weigh 5.0 grams

Try that first.
    A 1983 cent that weighs 3.1 grams would be (probably) a copper piece struck in error, and would be quite valuable.
    Try a few cents from 1981 and earlier as well.
    They should weigh 3.1 grams.
    If your scale says 3.8 or something, then you know your scale is off.

It's possible but highly unlikely that you would have a 1983 and a 1983-D and both were copper coins struck in error.

1983 cents should weigh 2.5 grams.
    They are zinc with a copper plating.

• BillDugan1959BillDugan1959 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭✭✭

Mannie gray is trying to put you on the right track, and he is a professional.

I would highly recommend cropping the photos to delete your name and location.

Most of the private individuals on these forums guard their identities carefully.

A few dealers and experts here cannot do this so easily.