Home U.S. Coin Forum

Charmy's February 2013 LONG BEACH SHOW Report w/lots of Pics!!!

ThePennyLadyThePennyLady Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭✭✭
Let me start off by saying that I’ve been attending the Long Beach coin show for about 15 years, and this show was the BUSIEST, most WELL-ATTENDED Long Beach show I have ever been to! Expos Unlimited did an outstanding job of bringing in more dealers from around the country and their increased marketing was definitely successful in bringing in more public – including of course, having some amazing collections and collectibles on display, arranging for famous sports figures to sign autographs, and yes, even having the Laker Girls make an appearance! A big fat KUDOS to Expos Unlimited and Collectors Universe for putting on an excellent show!!!

On Wednesday, as usual, I drove into the loading dock area, unloaded, moved my car, waited to be let in, then began the tedious process of setting up my booth. One of my SoCal buddies, Roger, was thankfully there to help me put my booth together which makes the set up process go much quicker. During the set up process, the usual “vest pocket” dealers stopped by to show me their copper. This is where I often do the majority of my buying – and this show was no exception. Later in my report you’ll see what I mean!

During set up, Expos Unlimited once again set out taquitos and beer for the dealers. I made the usual rounds to my buddy dealers to quickly catch up with them. After set up day was over, a couple of us went across the street to one of my favorite chain restaurants – PF Changs! MMMMMMMMMMMM! It was already pretty crowded so we just sat at the bar and had dinner and some pretty decent wine!

It was a beautiful night, so I took some photos of what the convention center area looks like at night – it’s very pretty!

The next morning (Thursday), I went out to the registration area and took several photos before the show opened.