Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Acquired this "Our Little Monitor" token, thoughts?

I was looking for one to add to my son's/mine Numismatic Curiosities collection and stumbled upon this one already in a PCGS holder :)

Are there much nicer ones to be found out there in the wild (e.g. raw), or is this an acceptable piece as is? It looks really nice/original to me, but I'm by no means an expert in this issue.

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    TopographicOceansTopographicOceans Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭✭

I think that's an excellent Little Monitor example.
    It's a popular piece and yours has a nice strike and pretty toning, especially on the reverse anchor.

• Options
    ShamikaShamika Posts: 18,760 ✭✭✭✭

Are you kidding? That's about as nice as you'll ever find this great Civil War token. I love it all day long.

Buyer and seller of vintage coin boards!
  • Options
    mannie graymannie gray Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭✭✭

She's a stone-cold drop-dead beauty!

• Options
    DCWDCW Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks familiar. Did this belong to Lord Marcovan?

Dead Cat Waltz Exonumia
    "Coin collecting for outcasts..."

• Options
    jedmjedm Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭✭✭

Just fantastic...that's an excellent addition to your collection.

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

Very nice token....as good or rather better than those I have seen at shows... Cheers, RickO

• Options
    BoosibriBoosibri Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭✭

You always have had a good eye MB

• Options
    mercurydimeguymercurydimeguy Posts: 4,625 ✭✭✭✭

@DCW said:
    Looks familiar. Did this belong to Lord Marcovan?

No it did not. His did look nice as well. I pinged him about it.

Thank you for the kind words all. I appreciate your input :)

• Options
    BillJonesBillJones Posts: 33,484 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited January 20, 2017 6:40AM

As has become the case with coins, many of the better Civil War Tokens have been certified. The piece you have purchased is very nice.