Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Newp: 1869 German 1k Bavaria -- opinions please.

Hey Gang,

As you know I'm building an 1869 set of everything and right/wrong in PCGS plastic, but most of the World coins are not in PCGS plastic (NGC kind of has the market on this).

So I get this 1k (pic below) and it looks jaw dropping stunning in hand...I have 6 coins to send into PCGS for grading (5 NGC and 1 Anacs 1869 coins) and am tossed up about whether to crack and send raw or send in slabs for crossover. I'm not that concerned about grades, just want to get them into PCGS plastic. I got some feedback on the Thai coin (thanks for that), how about this coin? I've only seen a few so I don't have much to base my opinion from, but this is a SUPER old NGC slab and the coin is stunning (to me anyway).

Frankly if using U.S. Coins standards this coin could 67, I just don't see a single thing wrong with it but again I'm not an expert in the series. Let me know your thoughts.

Comments

• Options
    brg5658brg5658 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭✭✭
    This one is a bit different from your Thai coin.

To me (based on those photos) I would say PCGS would grade this coin as 65 or 66. I don't think it would get a 67. I say this because of the disturbance / gunk to the left of the crown and above the cross of the crown. It's a nice coin, but it doesn't have that "MS67" look to my eye.

Ultimately, does the numeric grade really matter to you all that much on this coin? I don't think this coin would sell for appreciably different prices in MS65 vs. MS67, so for a German minor like this I think it's all a wash. You're just out the certification fees for needing/wanting a different brand of plastic tomb.

Best of luck. And, of course -- these are just my opinions. YMMV.
    -Brandon
    -~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-
    My sets: [280+ horse coins] :: [France Sowers] :: [Colorful world copper] :: [Beautiful world coins]