Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

Was there an Edward "Longshanks" Penny minted at Dalton?

I'm not an expert on this stuff and I see one for sale and I cannot find a reference, I see they were minted in London, York, Canterbury, maybe Dublin? I don't know, I've been looking on wildwinds and this coin I'm looking at clearly says CIVITAS DALTON unless I'm blind

what do you guys think? seems it's Edward no?

=Recipient of the coveted "You Suck" award 4/28/2014=

Comments

• lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,194 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Could be CIVITAS CANTOR, or Canterbury?

Explore collections of lordmarcovan on CollecOnline, management, safe-keeping, sharing and valuation solution for art piece and collectibles.
  • that would make sense wouldn't it

*feels dumb*
    Was just an idea. I can't really see what that says on there. Eddie the First had a lot of mints striking coins.

Explore collections of lordmarcovan on CollecOnline, management, safe-keeping, sharing and valuation solution for art piece and collectibles.
  • that backwards L is bizarre, it doesn't make sense as an N or an L image

but CAN-TOR is the abbreviation for Canterbury so it's gotta be that

I have such a hard time reading the crude medieval inscriptions, especially when they are worn

<< <i>I have such a hard time reading the crude medieval inscriptions, especially when they are worn >>

Ditto. Lombardic lettering can be challenging enough to read under the best of conditions.

BTW, that one looks sea-salvaged. I'd pass on it, unless it has an interesting provenance. FilthyBroke or somebody had one looked like that, which had been found in a published hoard, which was kind of neat.

Eddie the First pennies are probably the most common and affordable of medieval hammered silver English coins. In fact, you may remember I dug one while I was detecting in Essex the November before last. That was fun. image

imageimage