Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Knowledgeable about Lincoln Cents? Does my colorful 1913 have altered surfaces... or?

OK... I'll cut to the chase.

Is my Newp an altered surface coin?

I'm hoping not, even tho the spot is a true 'bummer', to regress to the vernacular of my youth.

I remember when!

Comments

• Options
    jp84jp84 Posts: 184 ✭✭✭
    Unfortunately, I think it has been cleaned and re-toned. The Lincoln head side especially shows a color that you just dont normally see.
  • Options
    I'm not an expert, but this looks like a Matte Proof with the hammered strike and sharp, square edges. If so, you got a steal of a price. Maybe some of the MPL experts can chime in.

Jeff
  • Options
    not sure but could be a proof and the colors I have seen on many Lincolns some of which I attribute to the pics. Did you oil the coin? If you acetone it and it changes color then it was AT if it just cleans you know it is more likely NT. Can you take some pics that are not at an angle and some of the rim and side?
  • Options
    That IS one heckuva strike and square edges too.

Successful BST deals with mustangt and jesbroken. Now EVERYTHING is for sale.

• Options
    bolivarshagnastybolivarshagnasty Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Looks to be a Matte Proof. Looking at my reference book, two die pairs were used in 1913. Die pair one should have a C shaped die scratch to the left of I in IN on obverse. Die pair two look for a
    diagonal die scratch from the rim above the left side of the N in IN on the obverse. Do you have either of those markers?
  • Options
    coinsarefuncoinsarefun Posts: 21,666 ✭✭✭✭✭
    A little late to the game but doesn't matter all that much about the color as I think you may have a Matte Proof there!

• Options
    WaterSportWaterSport Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Agreed ...send it in as in, maybe an acetone bath first.

WS
    Proud recipient of the coveted PCGS Forum "You Suck" Award Thursday July 19, 2007 11:33 PM and December 30th, 2011 at 8:50 PM.