Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Kookaburras & 2013 US Mint Silver Proof Set (SV8)

Hi. I'm relatively new to coin collecting and completely new to joining a coin forum so hello to all. One part of my collection is the Kookaburra series from the Perth Mint. I've noticed lately that there are different reverses on same year coins. I know that the Royal Australian Mint has made some but I've seen the "P" mint mark on the coins. Did the Perth Mint use different obverse designs in the same year on proof and bullion coins? Also, today I just returned the third silver proof set from the US Mint due to poor quality of the coins. Not due to errors unfortunately but just poor quality. Knicks on coins, smudges and cloudy surfaces etc.. I would expect some on an older set but I have sets that are from the 50's that are in better shape. Has anyone else noticed any quality problems with them? Thanks in advance.
Better to be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt.

jeff

Comments

• Options
    DorkGirlDorkGirl Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭
    Becky
  • Options
  • Options
    olmanjonolmanjon Posts: 1,187
    Welcome to the forumn. You will find it a wealth of information and great people. We all love pictures so if you have some, post them for all to see.
    Olmanjon
    Proud recipiant of the Lord M "you suck award-March-2008"
    http://bit.ly/bxi7py
  • Options
    Thanks and I think I've just answered my own question with some digging. It looks like, let's say a 2003 proof is actually going to be the 2004 design?? Here's some pics.

jeff
  • Options
    Woops. Thought I had it figured out how to attach photo's but evidently not.. Will keep trying. Ha ha. Sorry.

jeff
  • Options
    DeutscherGeistDeutscherGeist Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the boards!!

There are a great group of people on here with loads of experience and are not stingy to share.