Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

My 7070 has begun. Cent for your thoughts?

So as a fairly new collector this is my very first venture into "old" coins. I'd appreciate your thoughts both good and bad on the coins and photos. If you would care to throw out a grade and maybe what the coins would be valued at I'd certainly like to hear that as well. Anyways. Hopefully I can get these pictures to cooperate. Thanks in advance. image

Comments

• Options
    Sorry for the fact these are 90 degrees off. I rotated them on my desktop, then again in photobucket where they appear correct on both, but they turn up sideways here. ?
  • Options
    JcarneyJcarney Posts: 3,154
    They look like nice coins for a 7070. I'm looking for similar coins for my type set. I'm not an expert in either series but I'd grade the 1853 cent as a real nice VF with a value of $40-$50 or so and the half cent a F at $70-$80. Again, not my series...just a WAG both on grade and value. I'm looking forward to seeing other's opinions, I'm sure I'll learn something. I'd be happy to have both in my 7070.
    “When the people find that they can vote themselves money, that will herald the end of the republic.” — Benjamin Franklin

My icon IS my coin. It is a gem 1949 FBL Franklin.
  • Options
    morgansforevermorgansforever Posts: 8,428 ✭✭✭✭✭
    They both appear to be coins with that honest circulated look.
    I too have toyed with the thought of doing a 7070, Morgans are starting to be come blah, sorta.
    Good luck with your pursuit,
    Scott
    World coins FSHO Hundreds of successful BST transactions U.S. coins FSHO
  • Options
    s4nys4ny Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭
    Nice pics and good start to your 7070.
  • Options
    PatchesPatches Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭
    I'd grade the large cent XF-40 and the half cent VF-35. Both have good eye appeal in my opinion...they'll look great in an album alongside other circulated coins. Have fun with the set image
  • Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭