Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Rock Tumbler or Vibrator for Restoring Cleaned Coins?

moosesrmoosesr Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭
I have been carrying several harshly cleaned VAM Morgan and Peace dollars around in my pockets hoping to bring them back to where they can be certified. I have been doing this for several months with only slight improvement. Has anyone on the forum successfully used a Rock Tumbler or Vibrator for restoring harshly cleaned coins?

Thanks,
Charlie

Comments

• Options
    jmj3esqjmj3esq Posts: 5,421
    I think the results would look worse than the harshly cleaned coin you already have.
  • Options
    dorkkarldorkkarl Posts: 12,692 ✭✭✭
    if your gonna do this (the pocket thing) , to be really practical, you gotta have more then just dollars in the pocket. you must mix in smaller silver coins, too. dimes are the idea, maybe a roll of junk roosies. it DOES work, however can take awhile. a good idea is to polish the cleaned coins 1st so as to remove any randomized hairlines.

a pocket full of silver dollars don't get enough edge-to-surface contact to effectively abrade away the cleaning issues.

K S
  • Options
    Steve27Steve27 Posts: 13,274 ✭✭✭
    I agree with the dork, and vibrators only work on women.
    "It's far easier to fight for principles, than to live up to them." Adlai Stevenson
  • Options
    DJCoinzDJCoinz Posts: 3,856

<< <i>if your gonna do this (the pocket thing) , to be really practical, you gotta have more then just dollars in the pocket. you must mix in smaller silver coins, too. dimes are the idea, maybe a roll of junk roosies. it DOES work, however can take awhile. a good idea is to polish the cleaned coins 1st so as to remove any randomized hairlines.

a pocket full of silver dollars don't get enough edge-to-surface contact to effectively abrade away the cleaning issues.

K S >>

aka Dan
  • Options
    BroadstruckBroadstruck Posts: 30,497 ✭✭✭✭✭