Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

My Topps Cardinals Autograph Collection

frankhardyfrankhardy Posts: 8,040 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited February 10, 2024 5:19PM in Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
I have been inspired! I am very new to TTM autographs. I sent my first ones in February of this year. I have been amazed at Elemenopeo's thread about the 2006 Allen and Ginter's project. I have now started a vintage Topps Cardinals TTM project of my own. I even used his title as a template (with his blessing) - Dear Mr. Schoendienst (My vintage Topps Cardinals auto TTM project). (edited to say that I have since changed the title).

Many of you know that I am a Cardinals team set collector. I started out just wanting to get all of the Topps from 1951 to present. Well, once I finished that, it branched out to Bowman, to vintage inserts and test issues, then Fleer, then Donruss, so on and so forth.

On March 12th of this year, I sent off my first 1952 Topps Cardinals card for my TTM project. In a little over 2 months, I now have 92 autographed Topps Cardinals players.

There is one thing I want to mention. It seems that most TTM guys that collect vintage autographs only send out reprints. It seems like either nobody in TTM has vintage cards or they don't want to risk sending in the real thing. The ones I have sent are the real deal.

I started in 1952 with only the players that sign for free (except Schoendienst - I figure $5 per sig was worth it). I am now nearly finished through 1960 and have sent off cards through 1962 (with a few exceptions of some later cards that I had doubles of).