Home U.S. Coin Forum

1883 Proof Shield Nickel - Should I have PCGS Conserve it to remove Haze?

ConnecticoinConnecticoin Posts: 12,475 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited April 23, 2022 12:10PM in U.S. Coin Forum

I have this 1883 Proof Shield Nickel which is graded PCGS PR66. The haze does not look too awful in hand, but I am thinking the eye appeal might improve with professional conservation.

Has anyone had experience with using PCGS conservation to remove haze from Proof nickels, especially Shield Nickels? Your thoughts and input would be appreciated.

Comments

• winestevenwinesteven Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 24, 2022 2:13AM
    1. I’ve had positive experiences with the PCGS Restoration Department, but NOT with having them remove haze from a nickel.
    2. I’m no expert, so before submitting based on my next point, wait to see if there are intelligent replies below from knowledgeable people on this forum.
    3. If the experts in the PCGS Restoration department believe they cannot do anything in a Positive manner for the eye appeal of this coin, they will not accept it for Restoration. In that case, your cost is only their $10 exam fee plus shipping. If it were me, I’d send it in! I’ve submitted several PCGS graded four figure coins to PCGS Restoration, without ever having a bad outcome.

Edited to add: If they do accept it for Restoration, be aware the coin WILL get a new cert number. They absolutely will not allow you to retain the same cert number!

If you do end up submitting it, please post before and after photos, sharing your thoughts. This way we can all learn and benefit from your experience.

Steve

A day without fine wine and working on your coin collection is like a day without sunshine!!!

My collecting “Pride & Joy” is my PCGS Registry Dansco 7070 Set:
    https://www.pcgs.com/setregistry/type-sets/design-type-sets/complete-dansco-7070-modified-type-set-1796-date/publishedset/213996
  • Joey29Joey29 Posts: 458 ✭✭✭

@Connecticoin said: