Home U.S. Coin Forum

Good Macro Lens for Canon Rebel T6? -- UPDATE: Lens Rec'd, Photos Posted

BustHalfBrianBustHalfBrian Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭
edited February 22, 2019 11:43AM in U.S. Coin Forum

I’m having trouble getting sharp photos of coins smaller than a quarter. Are there any good macro lenses compatible with this inexpensive DSLR that can improve my results with small coins? Thanks

Lurking and learning since 2010. Full-time professional numismatist.

Comments

• yspsalesyspsales Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭✭✭

I can PM you the contact info on a gentleman that just set me up with a copy stand, bellows, lighting, and lens for $600

As a former semi professional wedding and sports photographer, I can vouch for this set up. Makes life sooooo much easier.

BST: KindaNewish (3/21/21), WQuarterFreddie (3/30/21), Meltdown (4/6/21), DBSTrader2 (5/5/21) AKA- unclemonkey on Blow Out

• illini420illini420 Posts: 11,466 ✭✭✭✭✭

I've been using a Canon Rebel T4i for several years now... I use the Canon 100mm Macro 1:2.8 L-series lens with it and I am very happy with it. Paid around $750 for the lens, but I'm not sure you have to pay up for the L-series version.

That said, it's more than just the camera/lens, a copy stand is pretty important, getting the settings right on your camera and lighting are all pretty important too. In other words, the camera/lens is about half of the way there, knowing how to use them is the other half.

Read a copy of the Goodman book on Numismatic Photography if you haven't done so already.

• BStrauss3BStrauss3 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭✭✭

Canon, Sigma and Tamron make good to great macro lenses in the 100-110mm range. You will be happy with any of them. I use the 100mm to do full images down to 14mm trimes.

-----Burton
    ANA 50 year/Life Member (now "Emeritus")
  • yosclimberyosclimber Posts: 4,572 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited February 16, 2019 10:22PM