Home Precious Metals
Options

UPDATE IN FIRST POST MORE PHOTOS: 1980 Krugerrand - How do I tell if this is real or not (Not in han

mrpaseomrpaseo Posts: 4,753 ✭✭✭
I received these photos from my nephew, he does constructions and found this in a home that they were tearing down.

There is more in the small box, some coins and pocket watches. He is going to get me some more photos.

I asked him for the weight and measurements of the coin. Not sure what else to do as I am no expert. What would be a fair price on this if it is determined to be real?

UPDATE 03/09/15: So my nephew works for a gentleman that buys homes, fixes them up and resells them (A flipper I believe they are called). He purchased a home that belonged to a hoarder and had my nephew do the dirty work of removing the... stuff. This stuff was found in a little wooden box buried in a crate full of crayola crayons...

More to follow.

Comments

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Just my opinion, but I would only pay melt for that.... looks 'handled' so definitely not high grade, and not U.S. so not as 'liquid' as AGE's....Cheers, RickO
  • Options
    guitarwesguitarwes Posts: 9,240 ✭✭✭
    Weight, diameter, thickness, specific gravity test.
    @ Elite CNC Routing & Woodworks on Facebook. Check out my work.
    Too many positive BST transactions with too many members to list.
  • Options
    OPAOPA Posts: 17,104 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Appears to be "real." In it's condition, I doubt you would get spot for it....It's ready for the melting pot.

FYI: The Krugerrand is 32.77 mm in diameter and 2.84 mm thick. The Krugerrand's actual weight is 1.0909 troy ounces (33.93 g)
    "Bongo drive 1984 Lincoln that looks like old coin dug from ground."
  • Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,444 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>Appears to be "real." In it's condition, I doubt you would get spot for it....It's ready for the melting pot.