Home Sports Talk
Options

Feel free to fax your apologies to Tom and Bill

JustacommemanJustacommeman Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭✭
From Brady:

It's official: Nobody with the New England Patriots seemingly knows how most of their footballs became under-inflated in the AFC championship game.

Coach Bill Belichick said during a news conference on Thursday morning he was shocked when he heard about it on Monday, and quarterback Tom Brady echoed that sentiment in the afternoon. Brady said, "I didn’t alter the ball in any way."

"Everyone is trying to figure out what happened," Brady said. "I was as surprised as anybody when I heard Monday morning what was happening."

Brady said he had no knowledge of anyone tampering with the game balls, even though reports said 11 of the Patriots' 12 main balls were found to be two pounds per square inch below the league standard.

"I have no knowledge of anything," Brady said. "I have no knowledge of any wrongdoing. I’m very comfortable saying that nobody did it, as far as I know. I was in the locker room preparing for a game – I don’t know what happened over the course of the process with the footballs."

In his media conference on Thursday morning, Belichick said he had no knowledge of the football protocol or the air pressure, but Brady could answer better to his preferences. Some viewed that as Belichick putting the controversy on Brady, although that seems to be creating a controversy out of a controversy.

But Brady said he didn't know anything, and couldn't tell the difference between the balls in the first half, which was reportedly under-inflated, and the balls in the second half, which reportedly were the backup balls that were supposedly within the league rules for air pressure.

"From the first half to the second half, I didn’t think twice about it," Brady said. "I don’t put one thought into the football at that point. Once I approve the football, that’s the ball I expect on the field."