Home PSA Set Registry Forum

1979 Topps Hockey

I see this set finally got some tens in the pop. For the longest time they had 0. You would think lots of this stuff has been cracked to get the great one's rookie. Just started working on this set in PSA 9. Seems like a few came up on ebay and zip since. Could be one of the toughest PSa 9 or 10's in recent puck to get anybody in. I suppose the wax is more valuable sealed. Anybody break any of this stuff and have any luck getting decent cards from packs.

Comments

• goodriddance189goodriddance189 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭
    my favorite set!

tough, tough, issue. i have been buying graded 79's on ebay for 2 years, and i'm 11% complete on the set. i might be able to purchase a lot of 65 PSA 8's as well, which would be a huge jump. what 9's do you have? i have Gordie, Hull, Esposito, and Ron Stackhouse (used to have a Gretzky 9, but i sold it).

i have Hull and Tony Esposito 8's that i don't need, so lmk if you need them
    also, i know the guy who's at #1 on the Registry. he gave me some advice on buying packs. never, EVER buy 3 pack trays, and try to stick to unopened packs from either GAI or reputable dealers.
  • grilloj39grilloj39 Posts: 370 ✭✭
    I have about 20 raw commons in NM-MT or even maybe MINT condition if anyone wants them. Just let me know and I'll send them free of charge.
    Gold Coins
    Silver Coins

e-bay ID: grilloj39
    e-mail: grilloj39@gmail.com
  • RedHeart54RedHeart54 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭

<< <i> also, i know the guy who's at #1 on the Registry. he gave me some advice on buying packs. never, EVER buy 3 pack trays, and try to stick to unopened packs from either GAI or reputable dealers. >>

What's the matter with the trays?
    packaged too tightly together, causing a ton of corner damage
  • ranchranch Posts: 341
    I never really liked the 1979 Topps Hockey set, why not just collect the O-Pee-Chee version?

Here is why I think the O-Pee-Chee version is better: