Home Metal Detecting

Tips for a beginner

Well, I've never done anything like this before, but I would like to. The property my family owns used to have a one room schoolhouse on it, so I figure that would be a good place to start looking.

So, what would be a good detector to start off with? I want something that's not uber expensive, but is also able to find old silver coins, if they happen to be out there.

I know this might be broad and has probably been asked before, but i would appreciate any help. I'd love to get into this hobby.

I live in SE Michigan if that makes any difference to anything.

Comments

• pcgs69pcgs69 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭✭
    Some nut on this forum is selling his e-trac so that might be worth looking into image.

What you get really depends on how much you want to spend. It's like buying a car...find your budget then research what's available in that range. For around $200 a lot of people use the Garrett Ace 250. Good everyday shooter except in salt water areas. You could always get that used e-trac image
  • I hope you're not offended when I say that's a bit out of my price range right now!

Haha but have you used a Garrett Ace 250 before? Or has anyone else? That's the kind of price I would be willing to pay, assuming that it's worth buying. It has good reviews on Amazon but I trust you guys more than them.
  • WhiteTornadoWhiteTornado Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭
    My first detector, which is the one I'm still using, is a Tesoro Cibola. The next step down would be the Tesoro Compadre. Both have good reviews. The Cibola offers discrimination (ability to "tune out" a majority of certain types of metal such as pull tabs). I think that is the main difference between the two. There is no display on it, but from what I've experienced and heard, you really need to learn a machine's tones before worrying about a display.

In addition to the Garrett Ace 250, other popular entry-level machines are the Whites Coinmaster and the Fisher F2.