Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1854 Gold $1 help please from the gold guys New pic added to show scratches.

So my mom sent me this and 2 other gold $1 coins I have not imaged yet one is badly removed from jewelry. Anyway This was my grand mothers and now my mom has given it to me to do with what I want. I would like to know if this has any value above melt as I have no real knowledge about gold coins. Any help would be greatly appreciated and It looks cleaned as it has hairlines but I know most circulated gold does so here it is.

Comments

• Options
    CaptHenwayCaptHenway Posts: 31,548 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Some problems, but not a horrible Type Two. Definitely worth over melt.
    Numismatist. 50 year member ANA. Winner of four ANA Heath Literary Awards; three Wayte and Olga Raymond Literary Awards; Numismatist of the Year Award 2009, and Lifetime Achievement Award 2020. Winner numerous NLG Literary Awards.
  • Options
    commoncents05commoncents05 Posts: 10,078 ✭✭✭
    If you think that coin is cleaned, I would stop buying coins for a while and look at more coins. That coin is 100% original. A few reverse scratches would probably prevent it from grading, but the surfaces are exactly what you would look for. Definitely worth more than melt even with the scratches.

-Paul
    Many Quality coins for sale at http://www.CommonCentsRareCoins.com
  • Options
    HoledandCreativeHoledandCreative Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Looks pretty good to me. I'm sure I would pay a lot more than melt if offered.
  • Options
    BoosibriBoosibri Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>If you think that coin is cleaned, I would stop buying coins for a while and look at more coins. That coin is 100% original. A few reverse scratches would probably prevent it from grading, but the surfaces are exactly what you would look for. Definitely worth more than melt even with the scratches.

-Paul >>

I agree with Paul
  • Options
    stevebensteveben Posts: 4,595 ✭✭✭✭✭
    i'd keep it as is. pretty nice gift!
  • Options