Home U.S. Coin Forum

Degree in Numismatics...with proposal and courses.

I am a Junior in college working towards a bachelor's degree in Numismatics. Am I only the 2nd person to do this?

I added most of the proposal that I had to give the school which includes courses. Also, which it states in the proposal, I am a dual-major concurrently working towards a bachelor's in History. Therefore, I didn't need to clog up my Numismatics degree only with history classes and was able to keep it open for other areas (economics, art, etc.). I have plans for three different independent studies, one of which I will design and produce medals, as I am also an artist but have not worked in this medium before. In addition to the courses listed, I have completed all of the general studies courses when I completed my Associate's degrees in History and Performing Arts. Keep in mind that after general courses are taken, there are not a lot of classes needed to graduate and therefore one can not add everything. So if I want to study many different areas, I could not take a multitude of classes in any subject. Also that I had to follow curriculum guidelines when designed the degree, hence the kind of odd classes here and there. As for chemistry and sciences, the classes that would pertain to numismatics had many prerequisites in order to take them. One would have to major in the subject to take those classes. The ANA courses will facilitate the actual learning about coins which would equate to 2 or 3 college courses. After this degree, I plan to continue my studies in graduate school where numismatics would be the prime area.

Rationale: