Home U.S. Coin Forum

A question on $2 notes

I am watching the HSN coin show, and man these guys are bad! Right now they are talking about a 2002 $50 Gold eagle in MS-70 (ICG), and how it's such a bargain for $699. Then they start babbling about how the coin would be worth it even without the gold content, and then they bring up the 09-S VDB cent, and somehow that proves what a great deal this is, and then how that had to have $1 million in gold to get the few MS-70s they have. Anyhow, I digress.

The point is, the item before the eagle was some $2 notes, and some of the things they said seemed just plain wrong to me, but since I am no expert, I figure I would ask here to see if they actually spewed a kernel or truth or if it's the BS I am used to hearing on there.

1. They said that the treasury/Fed are never going to produce $2 bills again. Is that right? I know they don't circulate, but after 20 years of the series 1976, they treasury decided to produce a bunch more in 1995, so isn't is possible that they will produce more sometime in the future? Even if it's unlikely, if the treasury hasn't come out and said they are discontinuing it, wouldn't it be misleading to say they are never going to be produced again?