Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

The unopened market: From the stratosphere to the exosphere

I threw my hat into the unopened ring back in the latter part of 2012, and that was dangerously akin to waltzing into a club with the lights coming on and expecting to cull the finest female in the joint. I've amassed as much material as I possibly could from then until now, and I've even enjoyed a chunk of the ascension along the way. But last night -- after viewing a 79 Topps BB wax box on the verge of exchanging hands for at least ~$1.8k -- I immediately grabbed my white flag like a ref who just witnessed a chop block. As a financial type by trade, cognitive dissonance is overpowering me now. I desperately want to continue this journey, but I can't justify it any longer. I'm not completely giving up my passion, but as of today I'll no longer be wandering aimlessly with a myopic focus. In fact, I'm currently in the midst of a tangential project that could very well prove to be more gratifying than any case-fresh box I have on my shelf. And at the end of my collecting day, gratification is paramount.

To those who are walking out of the club with PSA 10s of the female persuasion, I couldn't be happier for you. I consider these boards to be a fraternity, hence I can easily appreciate good fortune -- no matter the recipient. Same goes for those who aren't affected one iota by the volatility. Keep procuring the good stuff so I can live vicariously.

But to those who can empathize, how did your one-man intervention go?

Comments

• Options
    vintagefunvintagefun Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭