Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

SO I want to collect t206 Lets talk Tobacco Cards

I'm preparing to collect t206. Love the cards,history, and originality. Before I spend a $.01 I'm gonna do the research and get educated. So what are good grades to buy? Good places to buy? Tactics? What to watch for? Websites?

PLease tell me your thoughts about tobacco catds.

Basically any tip or referance would be helpful. I'd also love some stories and facts.

Thank You for your contributions.

Comments

• Good choice. I'm a newbie as well. Once you start you'll never go back. I wish i would of started years ago!

Here is some good sites that have been passed along to me from a friend.

online price checker...
    TCC
    Museum

• yawie99yawie99 Posts: 2,575 ✭✭✭
    Great choice! I love 'em. I'll try to post more later, but the links from Ben are a good start. The first one, I believe, should help you get a grip on the market. There's an e-book by Scot Reader that's also great resource. I think it's available for download on the T206 Museum site. If not, I have a copy I could send you. I also have an Excel file based on Scot's book that is pretty accurate at outlining all the possible front-back combos. There's still some cards whose status is up in the air, but that's one of the great things about the set. It still inspires almost fanatical devotion and research.

I'm probably a little over a third of the way in and am lacking most of the notable Hall of Famers, but you can check out my collection at www.imageevent.com/yawie99.
    imageimageimageimageimageimage
  • would buying raw examples off ebay be a good start. I was thinking cheaper cards with good eye appeal. Touched corners and wrinkles would be ok. I would stay away from paper loss and stains.
  • scooter729scooter729 Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭